Fast Easy Crochet Baby Gift

dsc02121

I didn’t feel like making yet another knitted baby blanket and as I had determined that this was going to be the year I taught myself how to crochet something other than the monster blanket that I first started working on years ago (and will be working on until the day I die) so I came up with this cutie pie as a solution to the latest bun in a friend’s oven.

This is my first time ever doing a granny square.  I LOVE IT! So fast!  I can see now why my mom makes all of our blankets out of this stitch even though toes poke through.  I also made my first ball…not so awesome.  The technique itself wasn’t hard but I had awful yarn.  I was accustomed to purchasing yarn with knitting in mind not crocheting.  Word to the wise – make sure your yarn has very clear, even edges if you are going to attempt a ball.  This bad boy took years off of my life. (Damn soft glittery nubbles…)

Here is a good tutorial for granny squares.

Here is a good tutorial for making balls.

dsc02120
I knew the square was going to be the body and the ball was going to be a head but I thought at first I was making a little bear until I looked at it again and went “Duh Nikki, yellow is for ducks.”  Then a friend clapped and said webbed feet and it was all over.

You’re going to think I am daft but here was my first plan for the bill. I was going to start with a long row, decreasing each row until I had a triangle then immediately begin increasing until I had a matching triangle connected to the other side by the tip.  THEN I was going to fold this over and sew the to sides together.  As I was planning this rocket science a friend in my knitting group managed not to roll her eyes as she politely suggested that I make a square and fold it in half…ummm, yeah, why don’ t I just do that.

So I made three squares, a larger one for the bill and two littler ones for the webbed feet.  I folded the mouth in half and sewed in in place on the then deflated head and sewed the feet on at an angle.  I tried to give him a smile…but it sort of just looks like he has to poo.  Oh well.  Two little black yarn eyes later and all he needed was some stuffing and his head sewn on.

I have never stuffed a baby toy before and a girl who has apparently done this several times suggested that I put all the the poly-fil inside pantyhose in the ball so little baby fingers don’t pinch it out through holes.  I have to say – great idea!  So now the head is stuffed and sewn on and my little constipated duckling is on his way to a new home.  I hope he makes a little baby happy.  Goodbye little quaky!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

20 Comments on “Fast Easy Crochet Baby Gift”

  1. Kere says:

    that is absolutely adorable! i just might have to try that this summer.

  2. Linda says:

    Very cute idea!!! I’ve also knitted a few baby blankets and have been thinking of branching out – what a great way to do it. I’m also thinking that I might embark on my own version of “the monster blanket” as a way to use up all of my leftover yarn that I can’t seem to part with…

    Have a great weekend!

  3. Glenda says:

    Adorable! OMGosh, I can’t wait to show this to my mom. She loves to crochet and frankly, we all have enough blankets to keep us warm through 5 winters! This will give her a new focus! Thanks for sharing…=)

  4. Nicole says:

    I was looking for something that wasn’t too complicated but was still cute.
    I think this might be perfect!

  5. Becky says:

    Is there a pattern to print?

    Thank you

  6. Nikki Wright says:

    No…It is just a granny square of any size you like and a ball of any size you like. No particular pattern. Follow the links provided in the post if you need help making a ball or a granny square.

  7. ScenceMib says:

    Awesome .. really cool theme. I will blog about it likewise.

  8. Gloria says:

    Ducky is Cute! Don’t know if I”ll ever make one but I enjoyed readiing your story!

  9. Beth says:

    I made an adorable blanket from granny squares for my soon-to-be niece, and decided to use the same basic granny square pattern and make this ducky, but I am adding a couple rows of popcorns for added texture. It will really match because the yellow I am using was an accent color on the blanket! (the orange for the feet and bill are kind of sparlkley and of a different texture from the body as well). I can’t wait to finish it and give it to my sister this weekend at the baby shower! Thanks for the idea :)

  10. Nikki says:

    I am so glad this gave you inspiration! Your idea to add the popcorn texture sounds awesome. Enjoy your new niece…I’ve been having a great time with mine lately.

  11. Yellow says:

    Thank you for the wonderful idea! So Cute! I have made 2 ducks and 2 bunnies for my nieces and friends. I found the eyes the hardest part to do. Thanks again

  12. Samantha says:

    This is super cute!:)

  13. [...] Fast Easy Crochet Baby How to make Chinese Hot Pot (for one or a group) Fast Easy Crochet Baby Gift; How to make a jean skirt from old pants; My Shop; Slow Cooker BBQ Pulled Pork – Sweet, Spicy Heaven [...]

  14. Laura says:

    Hello, I saw this and i would never have thought to do this but it is the cutiest thing!!

  15. [...] Örgü Ördek 1 Ördekte örmüşler.Kolaya benziyor.Oğluma örsem mi acaba.Burda. [...]

  16. Did you just sew the ball to the center of the granny square?

  17. This duck is so cute. Where did you find the pattern for making him?

  18. Nikki says:

    Just made it up as I was going along. I’m not very good at following patterns. I created this blog so I would remember how I jerry rigged my projects for the future.

  19. Nikki says:

    Yes. I just used some of the yellow yarn to sew the ball to the square.

  20. jocelyne says:

    I sure would like the pattern,i”m no good at creating without a pattern…
    Thanks a lot


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.