A shelf Re-Do, Step one – Cover books

I live on the other side of the world from my husband and family, and while I have friends here that I dearly love and a job that wipes me out every day…I am still left with too much time on my hands sometimes. And during those times I obsess over dumb things, because I live alone and no one stops me from being a little bit nutty.

One glorious Saturday it bothered me that the bookshelf I see from my bed did not have visual harmony, because that’s totally normal to worry about, right? My original plan was very simple (as they always start out), I’ll just pick up some brown paper bags from the grocery store and cover my books like I used to have to do in school. Yeah, it turns out I couldn’t figure out a tactful way to ask for 40 paper bags, and I live alone, so getting that many through the normal process of shopping would have taken for-ev-er. I’m a one, maybe two bags per trip shopper.

See! Nothing matches. Nothing! Gah!

So off to the local art store I go to look for pretty paper to cover my books with. Turns out pretty paper in Europe, not so cheap, but I do find brown wrapping paper (which I now know I could have gotten cheaper almost anywhere else – facepalm!) and a few sheets of nice patterned paper that I fell in love with and voilà, Plan B is born.

I then discovered that covering tons of books is a sloooooooowwwww process. But pretty easy, exactly as you remember it from when you were little. However, in case you have forgotten, here is a tutorial.

Ah, that’s better…things are starting to visually calm down

Still working through all of my bookshelves to cover all of my books, but already there is a vast improvement. As you can see from the picture below, I was not done with the insanity just yet – Oh no, this was only the beginning… More posts to follow.

Sneak Peek

4 Comments on “A shelf Re-Do, Step one – Cover books”

  1. Cassie says:

    Your bookshelf looks ABSOLUTELY adorable. I am loving the neutral colors!

  2. Nikki says:

    Thanks! It makes me super happy every time I look at it now.

    I’ll be posting several more DIY projects that I did with this shelf over the next few days, FYI.

  3. Siobhan says:

    I have to admit that I thought this was a slightly odd thing to worry about, but the results look great!

  4. Cassie says:

    Thanks! I will come back and see :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.