Heirloom Blanket made from Childhood Jeans

James’ grandmother collected all of his jeans when he was growing up and had this amazing blanket made for him.  This must be the softest, warmest blanket on the planet and he really loves it.

It means so much to him that when our last dog chewed a hole in the flannel (really ripped a section to shreds while teething) James was very upset and asked me to fix it.  This was an un-fixable hole that Sparky had created so I got crafty and decided to carry on the original tradition.  I found a ripped pair of his jeans that I had been meaning to mend for about two years and cut a patch out of those to cover the hole.  It is so cute that the pants from his adult life are now holding together his childhood blanket.

I think that this is just the sweetest thing that a person could get upon leaving their childhood years behind.  I fully intend to do this with my own kids.

Leave a Reply

