How to make a jean skirt from old pants

I do not have a pattern for this skirt.  I just put everything on the floor, pin it together and then sew it.  Good news is, the pictures tell the whole story here, the bad news is, you may have to tweak things as you go along. That said, this came out very well.
I grabbed two pairs of old jean pants. From one pair,  I removed the stitching from the inside seem. I did this by hand without cutting the seam so that the fabric would not fray.
Then I cut off the leg of the other pair of pants and removed the stitching from that as well, I used this for the front and back panels.
I pinned these to the pants while it was inside out and then turned it back right side out (carefully) to mark roughly where the cuts needed to be made with some chalk. I made sure to mark which was the front and back panel.
Before cutting and pinning these panels on I sewed the crotch and bum area of the pants to get everything to lie a little flatter. Then I laid the panels out again to check them one more time before I cut them to shape. I pinned them so that the seams would be facing the inside of the skirt.

I sewed the panels in with a light blue thread and just kept turning it right side out to check and make sure that I was straight, going over areas a few times until all of the seams were as straight and hidden as I could make them. It is not perfect but good enough to wear out around town without blushing.
I then cut the bottom to make the hem even and turned it under and pinned it. I made two hemlines about a 1/4 of an inch from the bottom and 1/2 an inch from the bottom (the width of the side of the foot on my sewing machine, which I used as my guide to make a straight line.)
I made a couple more passes to flatten out the bum area at the seam and viola; I have a new skirt that reaches my ankles.

I just finished making an AWESOME purse out of a skirt I picked up at goodwill, check it out here.  This might be my new favorite sewing project yet for recycling clothing.

www.GoPlacesBaby.com

We did it, we took the plunge. I now run a Female, Veteran owned Small Business.

From now on all posts will be uploaded at Go Places, Baby!

My family and I could not be more excited to start bringing you the very best products that we can.

Thank you to everyone that visits and supports us!

7 Comments on “How to make a jean skirt from old pants”

  1. srtyje says:

    those skirts are sooooooooooooooo cool

  2. Jerusha says:

    Oh thankyou so much! I bought a skirt like this a couple years ago, and I LOVE it…but…now you can tell…poor thing is worn out. I have looked the malls and stores over but apparently these skirts aren’t “the style” because no one is carrying them. So I thought maybe I could make my own…so I looked on the internet and here you are! Thanks again! The skirt looks FABULOUS!

  3. Kittikatt says:

    What an absolute pleasure to find a site dedicated to getting value from old clothes. Despite the recession most magazines think we have vast sums to fritter away on fashion garments and designer handbags. Another use for past their best jeans is a great shoulder bag and holdall. Keep on stitching everybody and thanks for all the hints!

    Kittikatt

  4. Nicole says:

    I just have to try this! (In a maternity version) 😉 Well, add another project to the list!

  5. Mb Pearce says:

    How do you handle the hem at the bottom?

  6. Jenny says:

    Ah ha!! This helps. A LOT. Was trying to figure out how to make the center part for the skirt I’m doing. Thankies~

  7. Clarita says:

    Good day! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could locate a captcha plugin for
    my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and
    I’m having difficulty finding one? Thanks a lot!


Leave a Reply

