Easy Banana Bread Recipe

Nothing says goodbye to summer and hello to changing leaves and knitting projects like banana bread.  The smell that fills your home as you bake this…I cannot even find the words to describe it, pure joy.

I have a terrible confession to make before I begin this post; I hate bananas. The only reason that I buy them is to make banana bread.  Something in the baking processes changes their flavor into heaven on earth  But, as this is true I know a shortcut to making them instantly brown, you freeze them overnight and then put them in the fridge to defrost.  Instant mushy banana (read, faster banana bread for all.)  I also make my recipe with no nuts…I know, this is sacrilege in many circles.  But I don’t like the mixture of textures, that is just my preference, by all means add the nuts back in if you prefer it.

Nikki’s Banana Bread:

  • 1 3/4 cup flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 2 eggs lightly beaten
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 stick of butter (the real stuff please) melted and set aside to cool for a bit
  • 3 bananas mashed well

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  I know others like to use big loaf pans (use these if you have them) but I really like the half size loaf pans.  Banana bread freezes really well and makes a great treat for later.  Butter and flour your loaf pan and pour the batter in (never overfill, the bread will rise.) Cook for 55-60 minutes until you can insert a toothpick and have it come out clean.  let the bread sit and fill your house with wonderful smells for half an hour, then ignore your doctor, slather with butter and dig in.  Trust me, I lost 4 pounds last week.  I attribute it all to this bread. (I am sure it had nothing to do with the three days of walking around town playing tour guide to my house guest all day.)

 

We did it, we took the plunge. I now run a Female, Veteran owned Small Business.

From now on all posts will be uploaded at Go Places, Baby!

My family and I could not be more excited to start bringing you the very best products that we can.

Thank you to everyone that visits and supports us!

www.GoPlacesBaby.com

 

Leave a Reply

