Day One of the Peacock Necklace

So I thought I would take you the full path of one of my projects from start to finish.  Let me know if this is something that you would like me to do more of in the future.

First I stumbled upon this neat little plastic peacock (see previous post from bead expo.)  I had no idea what I would do with it when I bought it as it is not a bead and I had no way to attach it to anything.  But the ol’ noodle started coming up with some ideas pretty quick, and as I wasn’t sure when I would get to making this piece I sketched it out really fast back when I brought it home so I wouldn’t forget.  Good thinking Nikki.  Nothing grand or detailed, just a place marker for my brain.

My solution for the peacock not having a hole is to make a sling for it with a peyote stitch (click here for instructions.) This is not at all hard, but it is time consuming.  I made it while watching “A Christmas Story,” oh Ralphie, how I love you and your official Red Ryder Carbine-Action Two-Hundred-Shot Range Model Air Rifle with a compass in the stock, and this thing which tells time.  Yeah, I know you shouldn’t bust out the Christmas movies until after Thanksgiving, but it’s my alone time and I can do with it as I please, thank you very much. 😉

Once I had that made I had to attach it to the peacock…and so enters the superglue.  Friggin’ superglue. I don’t know what it is about this stuff but every time I come within four hundred feet of it bad things happen.  I revert back to an toddler’s motor skills and the patience of a flea.  Why do you hate me superglue, why?  So after gluing every bit of my fingers and shirt (don’t ask) and having everything pop out like fifteen times everything was settled in and drying.  I am now practicing EVERY ounce of self control I have to not touch it and let the glue fully dry.  This included taking a shower, making lunch, blogging, and I think I will make a second fingerless mitten; then hopefully it will be time to leave the house for the evening.  There is a lot of drying to do here.  This is the end of day one for this project. I can’t risk messing it up before the glue is set.  Hopefully the plastic is secure in its bead sling and both have started to fuse a little bit to the fabric.  I may have a hard time sewing it on due to the glue around the bottom.

Shameless plug, visit my Etsy site so I can keep crafting and bringing you neat stuff in blogs, running out of supplies these days.  Every sale helps 🙂

I have saved on my favorites list on Etsy a lady who sells these plastic peacock things…I just stumbled on it this morning.  Pretty neat.  Click here if you want to scoop them up.

Leave a Reply

