Beautiful Basket Weave Knitting Stitch for Beginners

Scarf in progressThis is a knitting project for beginners, but everyone will think you have years of experience.  There are four things you need to be able to do at this point: cast-on, knit, purl, and count up to eight.  If you can do these four things follow me. I assume at this point you are very tired of knitting in a straight line but cables are still a little scary, or like me you jumped right in to cables because you had no clue what they were and therefore had no reason to be afraid 🙂  and now you want something with a little less thinking involved.  This pattern is perfect.  After a few repeats you get the feel for it and don’t really have to look down at the instructions much at all.  I like a wool blend for this because it shows the patten in a very clean way. Cast on a multiple of of 8 stitches, plus 10 additional stitches. Pattern Written out in Full:

  • Row 1- Knit 4, (Purl 2, Knit 6…repeat) Purl 2, Knit 4
  • Row 2 – Purl 4, (Knit 2, Purl 6…repeat) Knit 2, Purl 4
  • Row 3 – Knit 4, (Purl 2, Knit 6…repeat) Purl 2, Knit 4
  • Row 4- Knit
  • Row 5- Knit 8 (Purl 2, Knit 6…repeat) Purl 2, Knit 8
  • Row 6 – Purl 8 (Knit 2, Purl 6…repeat) Knit 2, Purl 8
  • Row 7 – Knit 8 (Purl 2, Knit 6…repeat) Purl 2, Knit 8
  • Row 8 – Knit

detailRepeat rows 1-8.  Notice that rows 5-7 have longer end stitches by 8, so you will have to do one less repeat set in the middle part then you do in row 1-3. Before I start a pattern I tend to do one row of regular knitting or purling after casting on.  I think it makes it easier to start the pattern on this rather than right on the cast-on stitches, and you can’t really see that tiny row in the finished product. There are several different kinds of row counters out there, but I like the free standing clicker kind pictured.  I just think it is easier to use, and therefore I remember to use it more often. Enjoy your new fancy scarf and don’t forget to brag that you made it! Oh! and good news Whip up has accepted my tutorial for making a jean skirt and has posted it.  Neat-o.  Yea for acceptance! I have another super easy beginner’s project if you are interested, check out knitting a neck sock.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

holiday-chickWhen the calendar roles over I am going to switch from teaching myself knitting to teaching myself to crochet.  (Well something other than the monster crochet blanket that I bring every week to my knitting group, seriously I am going to have to show you guys this thing. Talk about the hubris of the uninformed, my first project ever was a doozie.)  So I have been doing a little bit of Internet research lately on what I might want to start out with to build up my skills.  I really like this site.

www.GoPlacesBaby.com

We did it, we took the plunge. I now run a Female, Veteran owned Small Business.

From now on all posts will be uploaded at Go Places, Baby!

My family and I could not be more excited to start bringing you the very best products that we can.

Thank you to everyone that visits and supports us!

5 Comments on “Beautiful Basket Weave Knitting Stitch for Beginners”

  1. Linda says:

    Hi Nikki,

    Hi! i love your basketweave knitting project. I am doing one similar to your pattern. I forgot what doing so i screw up so took 2 row out put back on needle so i have purl on it now my question is do i knit or purl i have one more row. Doing row of knit 4 purl 2 knit 4 etc then 4 row of purl 4 knit 4 etc i have 32 stitches.

    I appreciate your help love your website. Thank you. Linda

  2. Cheryl says:

    What size needle did you use?

  3. Nikki says:

    I am sorry, I don’t remember the needle size I used…it was about two years ago.

  4. Yarn Bazaar says:

    Oh cool! Nice basket. Thanks for the pattern.

  5. I love this knitting pattern


Leave a Reply

