Deck the…550 square foot apartment…fa la la la la…la la la la

dsc019103mirror treeThe tree is up and lovely as ever and JAMES HELPED!!!! (I might have thrown a teeny-tiny temper tantrum that he did not fully deserve about not putting up the tree myself this year, despite the fact I am more than a little OCD about the way it has to look; but that is neither here nor there.)  I have to crow here about something.  I have not bought a single Christmas item in three years.  I am so proud of myself!  It took six years to slowly buy all the pieces for my tree, but I have it the way I like it and Christmas no longer costs me any money to maintain, neat.

Although, riddle me this…how does one lose a box with the tree skirt and stockings in a one bedroom apartment?  When I figure that out I will know the answer to life, the universe and everything.  Because it shouldn’t be physically possible. So this year my tree is a wee bit neakid in the nether regions.  It is probably for the best, Loki would find a tree skirt a great game of tug anyway.

dog bed

We actually got quite a bit accomplished this Sunday. The laundry got done, the tree went up and we built the elevated dog bed so Loki can be happy whLoki and treeen the couch leaves us.  The concept was very simple…the wood we bought was the pits.  I will be doing a better posting on this once I have the bed fully cleaned up and finished.  But what should have been a very simple build turned out to be a nightmare as the corner pieces I bought were stair banisters that I had cut in half.  This gave the legs a pretty finished foot and rounded edges…smart right?  No. The wood was cheap and a gazillion years old.  We couldn’t use screws as it was splitting the wood in half, and even wood nails were cleaving  it in two left and right.  We ended up having to wrap it in wire in places and pour wood glue into the cracks to secure some of the worse splits.  No more bitching about it though, we saved the project and it has had time to dry and heal.  Now I just need to apply a second coat of glue in some places, and sand and paint the beast.

Right now my living room is stuffed to the brim.  My mom and sister surprised me by announcing that they were coming up. So the pull out couch which was going to have a new home last weekend and is now staying until the weekend after Christmas. (Thanks for being so understanding Amber, you’re the best!)

In my tiny living room we now have a 7 1/2 foot Christmas tree, 2 chairs, an ottoman, a dog cage, a couch, an elevated dog bed, two small dressers/end tables, two large shelves, a giant TV and TV stand…and often two people and a dog.  To say that we are climbing over each other would be an understatement.

When the holidays have ended and the tree and couch and guests are gone I am going to feel like I have moved into a bigger place!

Oh and good news, I have about 1/3 of my book down in the computer.  Not nearly in its final form…but I at least have down on paper what happens.  I have hit a bit of a stumbling block here seeing what happen next.  I am at a major transition point and haven’t been sleeping well…but I am confident that I will get back in the swing once the holiday craziness starts to settle down.

Good news number two.  I have lost 15 pounds.  I can’t really see the difference yet but I am getting closer to building up the courage to try on some of my older jeans.  I can’t stand the thought of rejection just yet if they don’t fit…but maybe in a week, if the trend continues, I will give them a shot. (For those who don’t know, James and I spent three months in a hotel this summer without a kitchen and could only eat out for every meal.  Oh. My. Gosh! I gained twenty pounds in one summer…tragic.  I was already more overweight than I liked, so I have been fighting back slowly.)  Ironically, writing this book has helped the most.  I get so caught up in what I am doing that I don’t move for hours, no moving, no snacking.  Instant weight loss.  Also I am happier.  I am one of those tragic people where when I am happy the weight melts off and when I am unhappy my body hoards fat. How cruel is the world?  Nothing makes you more unhappy than seeing yourself get bigger.  In the words of fat bastard, “I eat because I’m unhappy, I’m unhappy because I eat.  It’s a vicious cycle”

No more for Nikki!

One Comment on “Deck the…550 square foot apartment…fa la la la la…la la la la”

  1. fairrosalind says:

    My house is 528 square feet for me and a cat. I used to think that was crowded! But having one person, one animal, and a basement makes all the difference in the world. No tree though, the cat would have way too much fun with it 🙂


Leave a Reply

