How do you REALLY get a fiction book published?

Researching this is like asking “What’s the meaning of life?”  Everyone has a different answer.

I have the first book in a fiction trilogy finished and I am far enough into the second (and even a little bit into the third book) to know for sure now that I can live with the rules I established in the first book.  As such I think I am ready to look for a publisher.  BUT HOW?

Do I approach an agent first?  Why would they talk to me?  Do I approach a publisher?  It seems like that is a black hole for manuscripts.

How do people do this?

Has anyone out there published fiction?  Do you have the name of an agent or the contact information of someone in a publishing house that I can try.  My email information is in the contact me section, you don’t have to leave it in an open comment if you don’t want to.  I just need any help I can get here.  I feel like I am running in useless circles.

I mean really – really, for my 150,000 word novel I am supposed to go out and hire a professional editor for anywhere from $5,000 to $12,000 dollars just on a chance it will clean the manuscript up enough to maybe make it presentable enough to not get rejected by a publisher after one paragraph.  How does anyone do this?

4 Comments on “How do you REALLY get a fiction book published?”

  1. Cesia says:

    Hi there. I’m not in the publishing industry and have no clue when it comes to this stuff, but I sometimes read this guy’s blog and I thought it might help you with your questions.

    http://nathanbransford.blogspot.com/

    – Cesia.

  2. Gwen says:

    Do you still need a publisher? My dog trainer, of all people, has publised a fiction book. You can find her contact info on http://www.dogspeak101.com.

    ~Gwen

  3. Nicole says:

    If you need someone to help edit your work, I’d gladly help.
    I’ve studied Journalism and Public Relations with more than my fair share of editing classes.
    🙂

  4. Liz says:

    I know this is way late, but I’m publishing through CreateSpace (it’s owned by Amazon)

    It’s print on demand, assigns an ISBN number. It is just industry paperbacks but it works. I’ve published an 90 page book both paper and kiddle. You gotta sell for yourself, but I think it is that way with regular publishing. It’s a good method.


Leave a Reply

